Skip to main content.
Undergraduate study, Queen Mary, University of London
Ref No (click to see in context)WFD/5/9
TitleSwinnerton-Dyer Committee
Extent3 files
DescriptionThis sub-series contains records relating to the Committee on Academic Organisation, more commonly known as the Swinnerton-Dyer Committee, 1980-1982.
Admin HistoryThe Committee on Academic Organisation was established in 1980 by the University of London to examine the non-medical side of the University. It's aim was to consider the situation of the University over the next 15 years and to make recommendations that would enable large financial savings whilst maintaining and developing the reputation of the University's research and teaching. The Chairman of the Committee was Sir Peter Swinnerton-Dyer.

As a result of the Committee and previous reports, including the Flowers Report and the Murray Report, the University Court concluded that teaching in the sciences should be concentrated in 5 institutional groups; Imperial College, University College, Kings College/Queen Elizabeth College, Queen Mary College, and Bedford College/Royal Holloway College. Smaller colleges, including Westfield, were encouraged to collaborate and/or merge with the larger institutions.
ArrangementArranged chronologically.
Access StatusOpen
CodePerson or Corporate Body Name
DS/UK/30Westfield College; 1882-1989; Higher Education Institution